RSS

An History of Social Media

14 Jun

The ubiquity of the internet has monumentally revolutionized how we interact with each other

From the first sent email to the current networking craziness, years went by. What about a lesson of history?


This history can also be summerized in a video by www.MarketingProOnline.com.

Connect with MarketingProOnline on Twitter!

And you? Where do you fit in this timeline? Post your answer in the comment box below!

Social Media Value

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “An History of Social Media

  1. Florence Poirel

    June 16, 2011 at 10:29 AM

    I sent my first email at 13, in 2001. I had created a “caramail.fr” email account (which is now known as gmx.fr).

    At 15, I created a MSN account to tchat with my friends but I had a limited internet connection at my home so it’s was not a heavy usage!

    Then, I created a “voila.fr” email account at 18 in 2006. I wanted to have a more “professional looking” email address to apply for summer jobs and college programs. Once in the Business School, I got a school-related email address.

    I discover Facebook when I was a sophomore in college in 2008. I remember looking at friends’ computer screens and thinking “what the hell is this blue-designed website?”. I was so happy when I reached 10 friends! (No worries, I have a bit more FB friends now!)

    I finally created a gmail.com address, Linkedin and Viadeo (French smaller version of Linkedin) accounts in 2009 when things got serious at school. This is when I slowly started “networking”.

    In 2010, I spent one year in the USA and started a blog on cultural differences. I went from a Typepad.com to a Blogspot.com blog within a year. It was my first time blogging.

    I created a Twitter account at the end of 2010 but I really utilized it from the beginning of 2011.
    And last step: this new blog, created in May 2011!

    And you?

     

Thanks for your comment!

 
